Happy Halloween!

An ironic note for my Halloween here in Madison.

I had a dentist appointment this morning to drill and fill an itty bitty trouble spot (aka a teeny cavity). So on the day we celebrate ghouls, goblins and candy, I was at the dentist.

And you know what he asked me after he said “Good Morning!”?

“So, what is your pain tolerance like?”

I would imagine that those words should not be uttered by dentists, ever. Or gynecologists and proctologists either.

I raised my eyebrows and said “Well, it’s pretty high.” Which it is, but still …

He explained that he could give me a shot for the work which would leave my mouth numb (read here – drooling all over my keyboard in a daze) for the next few hours or if I could handle 20-30 seconds of work, I wouldn’t need the shot.

I didn’t want to be in a daze today, because I was already up late last night working and know I’ll be sleepy. Plus, I guess the pain tolerance question tested my pride a little.

So, no shot for me.

Which ended up okay, it really was only 20-30 seconds. And despite holding the arms of the dentist chair quite tightly as the drill dug into my tooth and my nerves shouted “Holy Hell! What is he doing to us, that bastard?!”, I survived. And I can’t even see the little filling he gave me, so it was a teeny tiny spot. All fixed.

So, I’m jamming out to a new fun song and I just ate some Halloween candy. I’m incorrigible, I know.

Technorati Tags:

2 Comments

Filed under Blondie: my thoughts, holidays, music

2 responses to “Happy Halloween!

  1. Katy

    oh my gosh, blondie! you beast! was it terrible? did it hurt or was it just scary? i might have shriveled up inside and died. but i think the challenge would have tempted me to go sans number, too.

  2. short stack

    The last dentist I went to gave me a Root Canal in the wrong tooth. That was the sharpest pain ever! Needless to say, I haven’t been back since.

Leave a Reply

