Annoyed

Okay seriously, if you e-mail me something and I don’t respond immediately, or hell, even for a few days or even longer sometimes, please don’t assume I’m ignoring you.

And please don’t have a little hissy fit. I don’t like whiners on the rugby field and I don’t like them on the web either.

I read every e-mail and comment I receive. When I have time.

I only delete or ignore comments which are unrelated to the given post. And just because I delete something unrelated to a post, doesn’t mean I’m ignoring the comment. Only that it doesn’t belong there at that particular post. Which I shouldn’t even have to explain, because damn it, this is my blog.

I have a life. I have a very busy life.

Of which, only maybe one percent is this blog. And of which, only a fraction of my very busy life even gets mentioned on this blog. I have a full-time professional career, earned after achieving my graduate degree. I have almost equally full-time commitment to my rugby team and the multiple attached organizations that help support my rugby team. I also have family, friends, a very cute flanker boyfriend who makes me laugh and smile everyday and the world’s best cat.

It is frankly amazing that I have even kept this blog updated at all. It certainly means that I should probably not be blogging and instead, some real work, some rugby team administrative stuff or hell, my own laundry which instead is piled in an overflowing basket in the corner of my bedroom, should actually be done. If one single link – out of all of the links on this blog – is not working correctly, let’s just say it’s not real high up on my priority list.

I do love my blog. I truly do. I have invested a lot of time and energy in my blog. I receive some very nice traffic and in turn, I send an awful lot of that traffic out to anyone I link to. That is link love. I like to share link love. I would hate to be so annoyed that I stop sharing this link love.

If you have a blog, and you have more time for your blog than I do, good for you. That’s really freakin’ great. Especially all of the rugby blogs that have popped up since I started this blog. Imitation is supposed to be the sincerest form of flattery. I suppose it is …

[And in writing that last paragraph, I just realized that I missed my two year blogiversary. Yup, missed Oct. 13. Oh well. Real life gets in the way.]

All of this said, a little patience would be appreciated. And some advice in return, spend less time on the internet. Spend more time getting a life.

Technorati Tags:

13 Comments

Filed under Blondie: my thoughts

13 responses to “Annoyed

  1. betty swallocks

    What a defensive post. Raging at the light will get you nowhere. If you don’t like what you’re doing, quit. If you can’t handle minor criticisms, quit. Otherwise, front up and keep going which, as you may find, is what rugby players do.

  2. Philadelphia

    Wow Blondie…

    We love your blog. Its ok if there’s not new stuff all the time and things aren’t perfect! Its a blog, not CNN!

  3. Blondie

    Betty –

    If someone comes over to your house and annoys you, repeated times, do you just shut up and take it? Roll over and not ask them to be quiet?

    I’m sorry. I don’t.

    If it’s “defensive” and “raging” to ask people to be patient and polite, then yup, that’s me.

    If you don’t like my “defensive, raging” posts, quit. As in quit reading this blog. Won’t bother me in the least.

    All the rest of us self-respecting ruggers will be over here, patiently and politely “fronting up”, as you say.

  4. Blondie

    Philly –

    Thank you. And best of luck in playoffs.

  5. Flip

    Betty is probably one of those players that just shows up for games, can’t make practice or fundraising events, and then wonders why the team isn’t doing well.

    Those not rowing are always the first to criticize and the first to wonder why the hell the ship is sinking.

    Seriously, like Blondie said, get a life.

  6. em

    See, I didn’t even know you had a cat until this post. Chin up. I don’t always agree with ya, but I do appreciate both what you’re doing and the fact that you do it for you and not for anyone else.

  7. Blondie

    Thanks Em.

    When I have some free time, I’ll post the infamous photo of my cat pissed off after his bath.

    This photo has now graced a birthday cake and I’m thinking of making mousepads for all of my family.

  8. Betty

    Dear dear! If people are coming round and annoying you, chin them. Don’t whine and whinge about it publicly. That’s real girly stuff. You must be a back.

  9. Blondie

    A lock, right now actually. And a flanker.

    Sometimes I even fill in at hooker and prop. If the backs need me, I’m there too. For 12 years and counting …

    And seeing as your back for more reading, and blowing of hot air, bring it.

    This girly girl can handle whatever you’ve got to say.

  10. KLK

    Hehe, I never have this problem because about 8 people read my blog! But I’m behind Blondie and having a life…but on a small side note I think its funny that her name is Betty “Swallocks” (like…swallowing locks) ok yea studying too much has made me a bit batty.

  11. Anonymous

    Re: betty swallocks: Is it really worth giving so much energy to somebody who 1.) has no life and 2.) who’s screen name means sweaty testicles? So Blondie and I may disagree, on things but I don’t think I’ve ever gone back to the comments of a post multiple times to keep being an a$$.

  12. rachel

    Blondie,
    your blog provided a much needed news source and resource to the entire women’s rugby community – linking people across the country and the world.

    What you have done for women’s rugby in just 2 years is more than most players contribute in their entire career.

    So do whatever the heck you want!

  13. OBG

    I like your blog. I like your links. Happy 2nd Anniversary. I like the discussions that you promote. I even like it when you don’t post something for a couple of days … it makes me wonder if Blondie is working on her 5 year plan or if she and boyfriend are out somewhere fun or if she’s on rugby tour or otherwise busy with life.

Leave a Reply

