April Showers …

… bring cold and rainy weather to the first day of spring practice. Yippee!

There is so much going on right now, it’s hard to keep it all straight. Plus I have a lot of stuff to do today before practice …

Our chili cookoff on Sunday was quite good. Better than I hoped. We had nine different types of delicious chili for people to eat and plenty of free beer and soda. We had a good crowd for our first attempt at this and made a good chunk of change to help us get to Seattle for our challenge match.

My only disappointment? Not as many of our own players there to help out, bring chili, or more importantly, bring along their friends and family. Don’t get me wrong, we had a good crowd, a good time and made some money. But it could’ve been better. It can always be better.

The boyfriend and I were talking about it afterwards and he said we should make stuff like this mandatory or if people don’t come, they have to pay anyway. But the whole point of rugby is to be fun and not a chore, so those kinds of rules make it a pain. Our players should want to be there for their team and for themselves, because – Hello! – they directly benefit from this fundraising. Grrr.

So, I get to make this speech at practice tonight. Fabulous!

What else … our first game is in two weeks. I am not feeling very ready for playing yet. Oy.

Our team is also hosting the Midwest Senior Selects tryout camp, April 21-22. I had to reserve a porta-potty for it. That was a first for me. Hello, do you have any portable toilets? Hand-sanitizers are $10 extra? Okay. We’re also going to have a spaghetti dinner that Saturday night of camp to help us raise money for the challenge match. We figure the challenge match should be important to every Midwest team, not just us.

The first camp was this past weekend in Cleveland? Did any of you go? How was it?

Our challenge match is coming together pretty well. I bought my ticket to Seattle the other day. No going back now. I’m getting excited. I have never been to Seattle.

Okay … lunch is calling. And so is my non-rugby life.

Technorati Tags:

Leave a comment

Filed under Blondie: my thoughts

Leave a Reply

