Part of my Five-Year Plan …

I may have mentioned this here before, but I may not have yet. But I have a five-year plan. It’s pretty simple and only has three steps:

1. Become financially secure

2. Go back to school

3. Begin new career

While I do enjoy my current career path, it’s not what I ever imagined I would be doing heading into what I consider true adulthood. Now with just six months and 12 days left in my 20s and, as my college roommate Gabbie told me on my 22 birthday, “30 really is just around the corner”.

A while back, feeling very lost about what I was doing with my life, I decided that my 30th birthday was my self-imposed deadline for getting on track. Not that I needed to be “there”, but that by the time I turn 30, I need to be on the path to getting “there”. And I’m very much of the mindset that it is never too late to become who you want to be.

It should be noted that my five-year plan has nothing to do with rugby (getting better!) and very little to do with my personal life (which is pretty damn good!), except that they are all interconnected to me. I have already done quite a lot of work in the past few years to get my personal life and rugby on better paths.

I’ve already taken some important, but challenging steps, towards No. 1. And recently, I found out that there is a whole world of personal financial blogs that I have found to very valuable in resources and information. Not everyone is having the same issues as me or each other, but I’ve been pretty amazed at what’s out there and how much all of these people want to help others be financially secure. They cover the gamut of mortgages to student loans to credit card debt to just not knowing anything about money.

These blogs are just like what we have here in our ruckosphere, but for personal finance. And if you’ve been paying attention to the news lately, debt is becoming a very serious issue for Americans.

So, I’m starting a list of Personal Finance Bloggers that I’ve been reading lately as I begin my work on crossing off No. 1. And since starting this blog was all about sharing resources important to rugby players, I thought these links worth sharing too. If we can’t afford to keep playing rugby, we can’t possibly keep enjoying it. 🙂 And I figure if it’s helping me accomplish my five-year plan, it might help you too.

I only have three links right now that I found through this recent article in the New York Times, but I’ll add more as I find good ones:

Blogging Away Debt

No Credit Needed

Save Leigh Ann

If you have any personal finance blogs to share, please let me know. Every so often, I’ll post an update on my five-year plan. And if you have your own plan, let me know.

3 Comments

Filed under Blondie: five-year plan

3 responses to “Part of my Five-Year Plan …

  1. Anonymous

    Hmmmm…. Don’t know your exact situation but here are some general comments about career…

    The hardest thing about a career track for any woman is balancing liking the job and pay. Maybe it’s because we want to emotionally connect with a job at some level. We naturally want to do something that we’ll like, that we feel is rewarding, fits our relationship circumstance(s), and somehow contributes to the greater good. But unless one has a fat trust fund then these can be luxuries beyond most of our reach…

    Certainly one does not want to be totally miserable or work for evil, but sometimes making some sacrifices in ideology or feelings for a few years can really fatten a bank account. For example, I know a lot of women who don’t ever see themselves working in the “corporate” world even though the pay can be much higher. Yet, I’ve know plenty of women who worked in the corporate world for a decade or more but then went into say teaching for the reward and were perfectly happy with their lives…

    Another hard realization is that things we may consider ourselves good at don’t often pay much… Part of this is from our university system. We naturally gravitate towards things that will lift our grade point average…

    For careers to stay away from… In my opinion Law is probably the biggest waste of money and time unless it’s combined with a business degree. Of course it sounds great to be an “attorney” and maybe going to law school gives a sense of purpose but the only people who make serious cash in it work 90 hour weeks and burn out in a few years… Real estate is another waste. It sounds great to get a “real estate” license but its can be so flooded with women and few have a natural knack for sales(a famous quote is “salepeople are born not made”)…

    For good careers… An irony is the most rewarding jobs that really helps people and pays a lot of money is often ignored – nursing often pays six figures. Obviously it involves being around sick people to varying degrees but it can have a very flexible schedule… Hospital administration is good too. In fact, most women have the organizational and detail oriented skills to excel in health care & the life sciences in general…. Project management has become a fairly high paying career track for women lately (see http:///www.pmi.org )…

    -P

  2. NCN

    Hey! Thanks for the “link-love”. I hope you enjoy reading my little blog.. for a list of other personal finance bloggers, you might want to check out pfblogs.org. It’s an aggregater of personal finance sites…
    Good luck moving forward with your goals!
    NCN

  3. Blondie

    P & all –

    In case anyone is curious, if I do go back to school, I will go back to become a Physical Therapist. If I can cross #1 off my list and can afford to return to school again, I would have to take a year of pre-requisite courses, then apply for the program here at our University and then it’s a three-year program. Trust me, I’m not making this decision lightly and this truly is a career path I would enjoy, because I would rather be on my feet active than at a desk all day, want to help people and it’s a career in higher demand and salary, similar to nursing (since you mentioned it).

    A bonus is that by the time I got in the program, it will be a doctoral. So I’ll have to change this to “Dr. Blondie”. 😉

    NCN – Thank You!

Leave a Reply

