Goodbye Bike Rides, Hello Blizzard

In case you are reading this from 80-degree weather or somewhere otherwise devoid of wind and snow, a whopper of a winter storm just hit the Midwest late yesterday.

Thankfully all you suckers south of Wisconsin are getting it a tad worse. Actually south and east of Madison, because I saw on the news that Milwaukee shut down their schools for the first time in 10 years.

Here in Madtown … just an inch or so early this morning and then a mini-blizzard for a couple of hours this morning, but I’ve heard it’s already stopped. I woke up this morning, didn’t even try to take my bike (since the lock was already frozen solid yesterday morning) and then my boyfriend decided to walk me to work on his day off. We bundled up and braved the 15-minute walk to my office and then he walked back home to enjoy doing nothing. And probably harass my cat from his normal eight hours of napping today.

The walk to work was a nice surprise today. I told him he could stay home nice and dry, but nope. 🙂

I’m not a big fan of winter, but I do hope the snow sticks around for a while and we have a white Christmas. If it’s going to be cold, there should at least be snow on the ground. Not just gray everywhere.

And I gotta tell you, I’m excited that I don’t have to blog this weekend. Not to say I won’t … but I really enjoy being able to completely disconnect on weekends. And tomorrow is my grandmother’s 82nd birthday. My mom and my sister and I are driving north for her birthday party. She’s a real spitfire. A small, little sicilian woman who I know is genetically responsible for the abundance of sarcasm DNA in our family. And when she was young, she was gorgeous. We have photos of my grandmother as a young mom down in Chicago dressed to the nines. High-heeled slippers on Christmas morning!

So have a good Friday and an even better weekend. And good luck to Sean and Tyson and all of the men’s Midwest Thunderbirds down at the NASCs in Florida this weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under blondie

Leave a Reply

