Soundtrack

An interesting forward I got from my friend Meredith out in Rhode Island … You select songs to be the soundtrack of your life.

I like this because it reminds me of a discussion some of my friends and I always have about what our “Up at Bat” song would be if we were MLB players.

This one is harder to figure out … but I included links to listen to song samples if you feel like it. Some links will play the song directly, others are to sites where you scroll down and choose the song sample.

UPDATE: I changed all of the song links to play the song directly. Most are Windows Media Files, FYI. Listening to this now, I realize I have never made a “mix tape” just for myself and all music that reminded me of significant events and/or periods of my life. This was a pretty cool little project to put together and I might end up making a real version of this list some day soon.

YOUR LIFE: THE SOUNDTRACK

Opening Credits: Zydeco Gris Gris, Beausoleil

Waking Up: Dance of the Sugarplum Fairy, The Nutcracker

Average Day: Just A Girl, No Doubt

First Date: Soul Meets Body, Death Cab for Cutie

Falling in Love: Island in the Sun, Weezer

Love Scene: Ascension (Don’t Ever Wonder), Maxwell

Fight Scene: My Way, Limp Bizkit

Breaking Up: Cold, Crossfade

Getting Back Together: Friday, I’m in Love, Cure

Secret Love: Bob Mould & Waiting in Vain, Bob Marley

Life’s Okay: Ice Cream, Sarah McLachlan

Mental Breakdown: Ready to Run, Dixie Chicks

Driving: Gravel Pit, Wu Tang Clan

Learning a Lesson: Roses, Outkast

Deep Thought: The Wheel, Edie Brickell & The New Bohemians

Flashback: Ms. Jackson, Outkast

Partying: Sure Shot, Beastie Boys

Happy Dance: Tiny Dancer, Elton John

Regreting: Could You Be Loved, Bob Marley

Long Night Alone: Are you lonesome tonight? Elvis

Death Scene: Pure Shores, All Saints (The Beach Soundtrack)

Closing Credits: Southern Cross, Jimmy Buffett

************
If you feel like making your own list, after some trial and error, I found that you can find samples of almost every song on Amazon, then find the link to listen to the sample and right click it to see the properties of the song sample link for the exact link for the song to just play, rather than the website. Use this specific song sample link and it will pop up just like mine.

3 Comments

Filed under blondie, fluffernutter, music

3 responses to “Soundtrack

  1. Amy

    Awesomeness…gonna have to work on my own when I have more time at work. Love today’s yahoo avatar, too!

  2. Ashley

    Awesome..new project to keep me busy at work. Did you come up with those categories or was that included. I can’t even think of songs for half of those…which is what makes it such a good new project!

  3. Blondie

    Ashley – Those categories were part of the forward. And they were hard … I’m not sure I would ever have thought of things like “secret love” or “mental breakdown” on my own … but now that I have songs for them, they fit.

    I should’ve added a rugby category too … maybe I’ll update it and add one.

Leave a Reply

