Women’s National All-Star Championships Today

The 2006 Women’s Senior NASCs have already started this afternoon. It’s being held together with the Collegiate Men’s and Under-23 Women’s. Later this weekend and early next week are the Eagle Matchs (Senior/U-19s) versus Canada as well.

Basically, a hell of a busy rugby weekend in Boulder. Especially for women. See the whole schedule of events here in my earlier post.

I had a meeting downtown all morning, so I had a message waiting at my office this afternoon from Pinkie. “Why isn’t the blog updated?!” It seems she and Scottie had some downtime this morning before they had to go the field and were on the web.

They also informed me that Goff’s preview article on the NASCs was a tad bit faulty for the Midwest. Lots of shoutouts, but wrong about some people. So I wrote him to correct it for the ladies in Colorado. Here’s my e-mail …

Hi Alex –
I just got a call at work from my teammates and friends on the Midwest side. They are at the field in Boulder and talked to me about your preview this morning. They wanted to let you know Thank You for the coverage, but there were a couple of errors …

“The Northeast takes on a Midwest side with a much more Chicago flavor to it than in recent years.

Up in the pack Farrah Douglas is a steadying presence at prop. She is assisted by two former USA U23 back row players who are enormously physical: Kelly Evanovich and Sue Hanson. And if they can win ball, watch out because the backs are amazing. Hannah Stolba or Sara Corcoran can both play at flyhalf, and they have Jen Sinkler and Christy Ringgenberg, two players who might feel it most at being left off the World Cup squad, as well as the Turpin sisters Sara and Kate. This is a very exciting attacking team.”

Sue Hanson has never played for the Eagle or Midwest U-23s and has never played in the back row. Sue is a center/wing/fullback. She’s a Wisconsin alum who played league for North Shore this past fall and is in the Eagle 7s player pool.

Wisconsin Women’s co-captains Kelly Clerkin and Nicole Helmer will be playing the backrow for the Thunderbirds with Kelly Evanovich. Roger was looking for more speed in his backrow, the two Kellys are No. 8s and Nicole will be one of the flankers after moving in from the backline at center.

Also, Sara and Kate Turpin share a last name but are not sisters.

If I get any other info on the games, I’ll let you know.

Thanks much!
Blondie

So, there you go Thunderbird pals. I sent him a correction.

For all of the rest of us not at NASCs, I will post scores, updates, photos as I get them. Feel free to e-mail me or leave comments if you have something to share.

I’m also wondering how down my reader numbers will be since I think everyone is in Boulder! More to come …

Update: Alex says thanks and it might be lack of sleep. He did, after all, just coach his HS team (Budd Bay) to 6th in the nation. We’ll cut him some slack …
Tags:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

