Utility Player

I’ll be playing scrumhalf tomorrow, just found out last night. So to recap, in the past three months I have played: Lock, Flanker, Outside Center, Inside Center and Scrumhalf.

This does not include the random games in which I have played fullback, wing, flyhalf, no. 8 and prop (10s & 7s) throughout my almost 11 years of playing rugby.

I would say I could be classified by the definitions below. However, hopefully not as the very last one.

u·til·i·ty
n. pl. u·til·i·ties
1. The quality or condition of being useful; usefulness: “I have always doubted the utility of these conferences on disarmament” (Winston S. Churchill).
2. A useful article or device.
3. a. A public utility.
3. b. A commodity or service, such as electricity, water, or public transportation, that is provided by a public utility.
4. Computer Science. A utility program.

adj.
1. Used, serving, or working in several capacities as needed, especially:
a. Prepared to play any of the smaller theatrical roles on short notice: a utility cast member.
b. Capable of playing as a substitute in any of several positions: a utility infielder.
2. Designed for various often heavy-duty practical uses: a utility knife; a utility vehicle.
3. Raised or kept for the production of a farm product rather than for show or as pets: utility livestock.
4. Of the lowest U.S. Government grade: utility beef.

So this really raises the question, is it better to be good at everything or be really excellent at a few things or maybe just one thing? I don’t know.

Everyone please keep me in your thoughts as I try to remember that scrumhalves don’t ruck & maul all the time … *sigh* … and rucking’s my favorite part.

Tags:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

