Scores & More … Plus NCAA Hockey Champions!

Not much for news today, but I’ve got a few results and women’s rugby news bits.

Via Goff, results from the East college scene…

UVa., Navy Women Move On
March 25, 2006 – The University of Virginia crushed American University 90-0, but it may have cost them as they move on into the Mid-Atlantic semifinals.

All American Fiona Foxon left the game injured and she wasn’t the only one, as UVa scored from all corners.

Meanwniule Navy also moved into the semis, but in much tighter fashion scoring one try to defeat West Chester 5-0.

Both teams had ample time and opportunity to score but the back-to-the-wall defenses were there.

Navy eventually scored by advancing on several penalties called against the Golden Rams. Finally Navy elected to take a scrum five meters from the West Chester line and scrumhalf Crystal Serrano nipped over for the only try.

Some solid goal line defense held for Navy the rest of the game.

“I personally was happy with our execution at the set pieces and our ruck and maul defense,” said West Chester head coach Tony DeRemer. “We lacked at execution phases of the game which ultimately cost us the match. We needed one last pass to score or one more quick ruck to keep moving forward, which did not happen when we needed it to. Navy, to their credit, worked very hard defensively at the base of the ruck and had some great open field tackles to stop our momentum.”

Also, my pal & teammate Moni played down in Nash Bash. She jumped in on games with Chicago North Shore and Nashville and says she had a blast. And she also reported that the Cinci-Dayton women were pretty dominating. Oh and fellow rugby blogger Liz, Hello back! Moni passed it on.

Also, Rachel says the NYRC women’s developmental side beat Boston, 24-15, despite a shortened roster. And she also reminded me that this past weekend was the Eagles’ Chula Vista Camp out in California.

Here in Madison, my lovely Wisconsin Women hosted the final tryout scrimmage for our state’s Under-23 Select-Side Team. And those girls busted their asses, despite the cold, windy weather and less numbers than expected. Pinkie and I helped out U-23 coach Tom Schmitt throughout the day and then after the collegiates scrimmaged each other, the probable starters scrimmaged our team.

We had 14 players (and borrowed a nice Marquette winger named Trish) to play. It was a good competition, especially considering 1/3 of our team were brand spankin’ new rookies and our wily vets were either not playing their natural positions (like Pinkie scrumming instead of No. 8) or just that morning touching a ball for the first time since fall. Sadly, I listened to my brain and stayed on the sidelines to snap some photos and touch judge a little, so my stupid broken pinkie heals well and I can play in two weeks against the Chicago Women. But man, did I want in those rucks.

And for the record, I’m pretty excited about some of our rookies. Fun stuff.

Sunday, a quiet and sunny day (almost 50 degrees!) and I hung out with my friend Tim and helped him look for a new car. The weather was gorgeous.

And I almost forgot to post this, but my girls on the University of Wisconsin women’s hockey team are the 2006 NCAA CHAMPIONS!!! I was sad that I couldn’t be there as their Sports Info gal this year, but I got to watch it on TV and see them shutout Minnesota 3-0. And then I had to watch the agonizing triple-overtime game between the UW men’s hockey team and Cornell, which the Badgers finally won 1-0. So, even better news for me. I’m working the Men’s NCAA Frozen Four in two weeks and my Badger boys will be there to (hopefully) win it all. And yippee, I get to work the games and track the plus/minus scoring. Sweet.

So a busy weekend. Today, I’m driving up to Stevens Point to work with my former college team on some drills. Saturday, I’m guest-coaching them at a tournament in Winona, MN while their coach is in Australia, so I didn’t want to show up completely cluess about what they had been working on. Turns out today will be their first outdoor practice in months. Pray that the alleged rain/snow hold off today for me. I’m wearing my underarmour anyway though.

If you have scores or results from the past weekend, holla in the comments. Links too.

Tags:

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Scores & More … Plus NCAA Hockey Champions!

  1. Robyn

    Thanks for mentioning me in your blog but you spelled my name wrong, it’s RobYn. Hope to see you in Winona.

  2. Blondie

    Robyn –

    Duly noted and corrected. See you in Winona. 😉

Leave a Reply

