Paths, Lent and Using the Keys I Supposedly Already Possess

For any of you that are Catholic (or some form of Christianity) like me, today was Ash Wednesday and the first day of Lent.

As a rarely-practicing, but often spiritual in my own way gal, I didn’t know today was anything but another Wednesday until I saw it on a news headline.

But it got me thinking about Lent, my childhood days in Catholic School and the act of giving up something (or abstaining) to better oneself. And I decided that today would be a good day to better myself by giving up some bad ingrained habits.

So after some thought on this, I have decided that I will give up Procrastination and Self-Pity. These are my crutches and I would like to learn to walk on my own.

It was then interesting tonight that Yahoo News’ headline was “The Keys to Happiness, And Why We Don’t Use Them“. I thought this was interesting:

One route to more happiness is called “flow,” an engrossing state that comes during creative or playful activity, psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi has found. Athletes, musicians, writers, gamers, and religious adherents know the feeling. It comes less from what you’re doing than from how you do it.

Additionally, they say strong friendships make us more happy. This probably explains why we’re all rugby junkies, huh? Athletes with strong friendships.

Maybe most striking though, and related to my Lenten plans, are that “Lethargy holds many people back from doing the things that lead to happiness.” It takes more effort for us to be happy, than to just sit here and be unhappy. But unhappiness is the path of least resistance …

So I think of Robert Frost and his poem, The Road Not Taken

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

And I have 40 days on this path that I would normally resist …

Photo: Kumadoco

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

