Monkeyin’ Around: Day 9 (Week 5)

Last night kind of sucked for our Monkey Bar workout. At least for me, individually.

I missed the warmup because I worked late, then lost time going home, checking on my cat & dog and driving back across downtown to the gym. And because I was in a hurry, I didn’t use my inhaler until right before the gym. I’m not sure why, but it seems to work better for me with some time in between using it and working out … at least 30 minutes.

So Chad has us split into two teams. One team did high knees in place, 50 times per leg, then five burpies. We did this four times in a row. The other team crawled forwards, then backwards across the gym (maybe 30 feet?) followed by 10 wall jumps (touch the floor, leap up and touch the wall). You did this four to five times in a row. The teams did each set twice, switching in between. He told us later we were going to do resisted runs with a partner, but we ran out of time.

So, yeah. Not sure what was up, but I felt like I had concrete boots on my feet for the high knees. And then opted to do side lunges instead of crawls because I put my weight on the outside of my hands when I do crawl. This aggravates the spot where I broke my hand … and since I don’t want to go see a doctor about it again (in case they say, stop playing rugby), I try to take care of it a little bit. The side lunges still burned badly though, so that was good.

All in all though, I turned in a sad, sad performance. I just wasn’t there last night. We ended with some strange neck/head stretches using our hands for resistance, but most of us were just faking it for Chad’s sake. I know … I looked around and everyone was just standing there nodding their head in various ways. Rather amusing actually. Then we wrapped with our one-leg balances. Reaching down and touching our toes as many times as possible, airplane swings (which brought on some rather amusing lines from Top Gun) and then the old classic with your eyes closed and your arms across your chest.

I think my problem is that I haven’t been running … at least for extended periods of time. I don’t have my runner’s lungs. That’s what I call it when my lungs are feeling healthy and giving me enough air. I can be in good body shape and not have my runner’s lungs, so I get worn out easily. I yawn a lot because my body is trying to get more air. I could also just be making this up … but my point is that I need to start running. Get some endurance out of my lungs.

A bunch of us went for food afterwards, hung out for a little bit and then I went home to make sure my small furry pals were okay after too much time being alone. They were right there at the door and extrememly wound up, so we didn’t get to sleep for a while. I guess that’s what happens when you get to take catnaps (& weinernaps) all day long … you want to play at night.

This weekend, my friends are going to Bockfest at a local brewery. Beer all day long and some kind of contest where they throw fish at you (smelts!) and if you catch one, you get a free drink or prize. I’m not sure I want fish thrown at me … although beer fests are always fun. I’m hanging with Sparky though, so no Bockfest though because he’s wrapping up some new house stuff. The pals will have to catch smelts without me …

Tags:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

